Does your marketing department want to introduce more design features into your catalogs? Perhaps they would also like to use a table to compare several different products in a group? The problem is that the only way you can do this with your existing catalog system is through considerable manual intervention, all of which requires time and resources which you do not have. The greater complexity you desire also requires extra effort for the foreign-language catalogs and this increases the production time more time which you also do not have.
So what you need is a flexible system which accommodates all the requirements that arise in respect of complexity but without too much additional outlay. FinalCatalogs offer you such a system.
The three different ways of producing catalog documents are shown below. These can naturally also be combined with each other.

Production matched to requirements

As a result of the varying complexity and density of information in the catalog documents to be produced, different processes are required to create the first version of a document:

Fully automatic
Documents with a fairly simple structure are produced entirely automatically. The article to be processed and the definition of the article elements to be output are selected in the easy-to-operate GUI database (or, as an alternative, via a control document). The FinalCatalogs catalog definition (KatDef) generates a version from the data in the media-neutral database and this is then processed automatically by the typesetting server to produce page-finished documents. The page-finished documents are output in PDF form. This PDF can be opened using the GUI database.

Semi-automatic
More complex documents can be produced semi-automatically. The articles to be processed are selected in the same way as for the fully automatic mode. In addition, several articles can be combined in GUI for a shared edition. Comparative tables can be created and edited. The version is again produced via the typesetting server, which creates page-finished documents from the data

Produced directly from the typesetting system through manual interactive production:
For extremely complex layouts. The documents are structured interactively by the user on the typesetting system by requesting the various components required individually from the database. With this any complex structure can be produced for instance, with accumulated texts for articles or table headers.

... all documents are naturally bi-directional, irrespective of how they are generated, i.e. all changes are always synchronized automatically!

Print Version

Home  |  FC System features  |  System comparison  |  Electronic catalogs  |  Legal information  |  Contact  |  Email
German Version

Ihre Marketingabteilung möchte in Ihren Katalogen mehr Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten? Vielleicht auch mehrere verschiedene Produkte einer Gruppe in einer Tabelle zum Vergleich? Aber Ihr Katalogsystem leistet dies nur durch erhebliche manuelle Eingriffe, für die Sie keine Zeit oder keine Ressourcen haben. Die gewünschte höhere Komplexität macht zusätzlich bei den fremdsprachlichen Katalogen Mehraufwand und benötigt mehr Produktionszeit, die Sie ebenfalls nicht haben.
Sie brauchen also ein flexibles System das sich ohne großen Mehraufwand auf alle auftretenden Komplexitätsanforderungen einstellt. FinalCatalogs bietet Ihnen ein solches System.
Die drei unterschiedlichen Wege zur Erstellung von Katalogdokumenten werden in der Folge dargestellt. Diese sind selbstverständlich untereinander mischbar.

Bedarfsangepasste Produktion

Durch die unterschiedliche Komplexität und Informationsdichte in den zu produzierenden Katalogdokumenten werden unterschiedliche Verfahren zur Ersterstellung eines Dokuments benötigt:

Vollautomatisch
Einfacher strukturierte Dokumente werden vollautomatisch erstellt. Die Auswahl der zu verarbeitenden Artikel und die Definition der auszugebenden Artikelbestandteile erfolgt im leicht zu bedienenden Datenbank GUI (alternativ auch über ein Steuerdokument). FinalCatalogs KatDef generiert aus den Daten der medienneutralen Datenbank eine Ausgabe die durch den Satzserver automatisch zu seitenfertigen Dokumenten verarbeitet wird. Die Ausgabe der seitenfertigen Dokumente erfolgt als PDF. Dieses PDF kann mit dem Datenbank GUI geöffnet werden.

Teilautomatisch
Dokumente mit höherer Komplexität können teilautomatisch erstellt werden. Die Auswahl der zu verarbeitenden Artikel erfolgt wie beim vollautomatischen Modus. Zusätzlich können im GUI mehrere Artikel für eine gemeinsame Ausgabe zusammengefügt werden. Vergleichende Tabellen können angelegt und editiert werden. Die Ausgabe erfolgt wieder über den Satzserver der aus den Daten seitenfertige Dokumente erstellt.

Manuell durch interaktive Erstellung direkt aus dem Satzsystem:
Für hochkomplexe Layouts. Die Dokumente werden vom Benutzer am Satzsystem interaktiv aufgebaut, indem die benötigten einzelnen Bestandteile individuell aus der Datenbank angefordert werden. Hiermit können beliebig komplexe Strukturen zum Beispiel mit kumulierten Artikeltexten oder Tabellenköpfen produziert werden.

... selbstverständlich sind alle Dokumente unabhängig von deren Erzeugung bidirektional, d.h. alle Änderungen sind immer automatisch synchronisiert!

Print Version

Home  |  System  |  Systemmerkmale  |  Lösung  |  Systemvergleich  |  Elektronische Kataloge  |  Impressum  |  Kontakt
English Version